Photo of AHRC President, Emeritus Professor Rosalind Croucher AM - Nominate today!

Human Rights Awards 2018 – Nominations close soon!

2018 is a special year for the Human Rights Awards, marking the 70th anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights. The Declaration underpins international human rights law and inspires us to work to ensure all people can gain freedom,...
Tuesday 17 July 2018
A Future Without Violence: Report

A future without violence for people with disability

Disability Discrimination Commissioner Alastair McEwin released a report today, A Future Without Violence: Quality, safeguarding and oversight to prevent and address violence against people with disability in institutional settings.Commissioner...
Monday 16 July 2018
June Oscar AO NAIDOC Person of the Year

Commissioner June Oscar AO named NAIDOC Person of the Year

The Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Social Justice Commissioner June Oscar AO has been named the NAIDOC Person of the Year at the National NAIDOC Awards.Commissioner Oscar received the award in recognition of her work championing the rights of...
Saturday 14 July 2018
Commissioner June Oscar

Because of Her We Can: Commissioner Oscar at NAIDOC Women's Conference

The Social Justice Commissioner June Oscar AO has celebrated NAIDOC Week with hundreds of First Nations women at the historic National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Women’s conference in Sydney.The two day event has celebrated this year’s...
Thursday 12 July 2018
Sexual Harassment Inquiry submissions open

Submissions open for world first inquiry into workplace sexual harassment

The Australian Human Rights Commission is calling for submissions to the National Inquiry into sexual harassment in Australian workplaces.The National Inquiry, led by the Sex Discrimination Commissioner Kate Jenkins, would like to hear from...
Monday 9 July 2018