Skip to main content


Human Rights Awards will be presented tomorrow

Commission Commission – General

Australia’s human rights heroes will be recognised and celebrated tomorrow at the Australian Human Rights Commission’s prestigious 2016 Human Rights Awards.

Hosted by Commission President Gillian Triggs and MCed by Australia’s much-loved comic and LGBTI+ advocate, Magda Szubanski, the awards ceremony begins at midday on Friday 9 December at the Westin Hotel in Sydney.

Former Governor-General Dame Quentin Bryce will give the keynote address, while singer and songwriter Archie Roach will help entertain more than 500 guests.

Awards will be presented in business, media, law, young people and community categories, and the 2016 Human Rights Medal will be presented to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to human rights in Australia.

Previous winners of the Human Rights Medal include Peter Greste, Ian Thorpe, Eddie Mabo, the Rt Hon. Malcom Fraser, Ron Merkel QC, Sister Clare Condon, Dorothy Hoddinott and Elizabeth Evatt.

The nominees for the 2016 Human Rights Medal are mental health educator Ingrid Ozols; human rights advocate Dr John-Paul Sanggaran; the chair of the Lowitja Institute, Patricia Anderson AO; lawyer Deng Adut; and disability advocate Paul Nunnari.

“The Human Rights Awards are the pinnacle of human rights recognition in Australia. We are proud to acknowledge the outstanding contribution of individuals and organisations in promoting and protecting human rights and freedoms,” said Commission President Gillian Triggs.

“This year we celebrate the 30th anniversary of the establishment of the Australian Human Rights Commission. We have significant milestones to celebrate and much work still to do,” Professor Triggs said. 

Media contact: Georgia Flynn - 0430 366 529