Skip to main content


Awards nominations open

Commission Commission – General

Nominations are now open for the 2017 Human Rights Awards, giving all Australians the opportunity to nominate individuals, organisations, businesses or community groups for their dedication to human rights.

The eight Awards categories are:

  • Human Rights Medal
  • Young People’s Human Rights Medal
  • Business Award
  • Racism. It Stops With Me Award
  • Media Award
  • Tony Fitzgerald Memorial Community Individual Award 
  • Community Organisation Award
  • Law Award

“I’d like to encourage everybody who knows an individual or organisation doing inspiring work on human rights to nominate them for an Award,” said President of the Australian Human Rights Commission, Professor Gillian Triggs.

Previous winners of the prestigious Human Rights Medal include Pat Anderson, Peter Greste, Eddie Mabo, Rt Hon Malcom Fraser, Ian Thorpe, Jeremy Jones, Professor Fred Hollows, Sister Clare Condon and Dorothy Hoddinott.

Last year broke attendance records, with more than 550 people turning out to celebrate the event.

Nominations close on 14 August 2017. The awards will be presented on Friday, 8 December 2017 at Sydney’s Westin Hotel.

Details and nomination forms are online at

Media contact: Sarah Bamford on 0417 957 525