Friday 9 June 2017

Once again, Australia is preparing to celebrate our human rights champions, but we need your help!

We’re asking you to nominate inspiring individuals, organisations, businesses or community groups who’ve made positive contributions to human rights.

Over the past five years, the Awards have been one of the highlights of my role as President of the Australian Human Rights Commission; an opportunity to celebrate so many unsung heroes who have become part of Australia’s human rights history.

There are eight Awards categories and I hope you can suggest a name eligible for one of these;

  • Human Rights Medal
  • Young People’s Human Rights Medal
  • Business Award
  • Racism. It Stops With Me Award
  • Media Award
  • Tony Fitzgerald Memorial Community Individual Award 
  • Community Organisation Award
  • Law Award

Previous winners of the prestigious Human Rights Medal include Pat Anderson, Peter Greste, Eddie Mabo, Rt Hon Malcom Fraser, Ian Thorpe, Jeremy Jones, Professor Fred Hollows, Sister Clare Condon and Dorothy Hoddinott.

Nominate your unsung heroes at by 14 August 2017.

SAVE THE DATE: The 2017 Human Rights Awards will be held on Friday, 8 December 2017 at Sydney’s Westin Hotel. Tickets will be on sale from October