Thursday 24 August 2017

For more than eight years, a small non-profit organisation called Bus Stop Films has helped build the life skills of people with an intellectual disability by making films for and about people from diverse backgrounds and abilities and offering access to a ‘film school experience’.

In 2016, the volunteer-run organisation went on to win the Human Rights Commission’s Community Organisation Award in recognition of its pioneering work.

The Human Rights Commission is now calling for nominations from non-government and community organisations for the 2017 Community Organisation Award, which is one of eight Human Rights Awards presented by the Commission each year.

Commission President, Emeritus Professor Rosalind Croucher, has urged individuals, businesses and organisations to nominate for the awards.

“We all know someone, or a business or organisation, that deserves to be recognised for their inspiring work,” President Croucher said.

“These awards recognise the commitment many people have to ensuring our rights and freedoms are enjoyed by all, on an equal basis.”

Previous winners in the prestigious Human Rights Medal category include Pat Anderson, Peter Greste, Eddie Mabo, Rt Hon Malcolm Fraser, Ian Thorpe, Jeremy Jones, Professor Fred Hollows, Sister Clare Condon and Dorothy Hoddinott.

Last year’s winner of the Tony Fitzgerald Memorial Community Individual Award was Jane Rosengrave, a proud Yorta Yorta woman and passionate advocate for people with disability.

The eight Human Rights Awards categories are:

  • Human Rights Medal
  • Young People’s Human Rights Medal
  • Business Award
  • Media Award
  • Tony Fitzgerald Memorial Community Individual Award
  • Community Organisation Award
  • The Racism. It Stops With Me Award
  • Law Award

Nominations are open until 4 September 2017. More details at

Photo: Commity Organisation Award 2017 winners, Bus Stop Films.